

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

## **Media Contact:**

Karen Korr for International Ombuds Association karen@fullkorrpress.com (619) 944-0650 (cell)

## INTERNATIONAL OMBUDS ASSOCIATION ANNOUNCES 2024 TRAILBLAZER & PRESIDENT'S AWARD RECIPIENTS

## **New Board Officers Assume Positions**

**SAN DIEGO** (April 17, 2024): The International Ombuds Association (IOA) has announced its 2024 Trailblazer and President's Award recipients, who were honored at the organization's annual conference in Indianapolis, Indiana in March. IOA's 2024 Board of Directors was also elevated earlier this month.

Tom Kosakowski, JD, University of Southern California University Ombuds for the Health Sciences Campus, is the recipient of the 2024 Trailblazer Award, the IOA's highest honor that recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the organizational ombuds field over an extended period of time. Kosakowski was chosen for his vision and leadership in creating The Ombuds Blog. For the past 18 years, Kosakowski has shared over 6,500 updates for all Ombuds regardless of sector and location creating a critical resource for the profession.

Eleven individuals also received the 2024 President's Award, which recognizes distinguished individuals for their commitment to serving the ombuds field and/or the International Ombuds Association. The 2024 President's Award recipients include:

- Kirsi Aulin, MS CO-OP®, University of Colorado Boulder CO-OP®
- Wayne Blair, MA, Asian Development Bank
- Suzanne Diviney, JD, CO-OP®, Pfizer
- Chuck Doran, CO-OP®, MWI
- Thomas Griffin, JD, University of California, Los Angeles
- Katie Manderson, MA, ACC, US Department of Veteran Affairs
- Jennifer Moumneh, CO-OP® University of California Irvine
- Jutta Reitmeier, Mars
- Ronnie Thomson, Sandia National Laboratories
- Diana Vermeul, World Bank Group, Respectful Workplace Advisors Program
- Lisa C. Yamagata-Lynch, PhD, CO-OP®, University of Tennessee Knoxville

"There are so many talented ombuds serving their communities in so many vital ways," said Alicia Booker, 2023 IOA President. "We are thrilled to honor them for all that they contribute to our profession, and for their extraordinary leadership," added Sarah Klaper 2024 IOA President.

Klaper, JD, the University Ombudsperson for Northwestern University, assumed the role of IOA President earlier this month. Jennifer Mahony, JD, Boston Children's Hospital was named IOA President-Elect, Lily Xu, MBA, CO-OP®, Ratheon Technologies, assumed the role of Secretary, and Wayne Francis Marriot, MA, Auchland University of Technology, was elected to serve as the association's treasurer. 2023 President Alicia Booker, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine, is serving as Immediate Past President.

The 2024 IOA Board is also comprised of Directors Amanda Dean, Austin Community College, Hector Escalante Meza, EdD, MFA, University of California Merced and Earthjustice, Amarah Khan, PhD, CO-OP®, City of Seattle, Marisa Mason Smith, MS, PHR, SHRM - SCP, SPHR, People's First International, Julie A. Muroff, JD, LLM, PCC, CO-OP®, Howard Hughes Medical Institute/Janelia Research Campus, Youssoupha Niang, MD, PhD, LMHC, PT, UNHCR, Bina Patel, PhD, MBA, Department of Defense, Mark Patterson, JD, LLM, California State University Channel Islands, Jacqueline Villafane, PhD, Infinidad Consulting LLC, and Lisa Yamagata-Lynch, PhD, CO-OP® University of Tennessee.

The International Ombuds Association (IOA) is a professional association committed to supporting organizational ombuds worldwide. The association's members help others safely navigate conflict and change in corporations, educational institutions, non-profit organizations, government entities, and nongovernmental organizations across the globe. IOA provides professional development, networking, mentoring, and other resources, and advocates for issues impacting ombuds. Learn more at www.ombudsassociation.org.

###