IOA Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Committee

About the Committee

In July of 2020, the IOA Board unanimously approved the establishment of a Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) Task Force. In July 2021, this task force became a official IOA committee.

The Committee helps IOA internally evaluate itself on aligning with anti-racism practices and racial justice, as well as to define parameters for a diverse, equitable, and inclusive environment that supports membership belonging and connection within the organization. 


The IOA’s Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) Committee is responsible for examining organizational policies and practices in order to determine implicit and explicit systemic inequities and implement constructive changes. The committee shepherds the IOA to mindfully and intentionally institute practices and behaviors that promote inclusiveness and refute inequity.


In the International Ombuds Association, we believe that our differences make us whole. We value:

  • Every thread of our membership tapestry, which incorporates race, age, ancestry, ethnicity, physical ability, neurodiversity, marital and family status, national origin and citizenship, cultural experience, religion, gender and gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, primary language, military status, socioeconomic position, political affiliation, and professional pursuit.
  • A culture of acceptance, respect, fairness, transparency, and representation by all members – cascading to the communities we serve.
  • Discourse which affirms our shared professional principles and reflects dignity toward the civil and respectful expression of ideas and opinions.
  • Appropriate action when we observe an IOA member or participant being treated unfairly or in a demeaning manner.

Read More on the IOA Independent Voice

Creation of the Task Force/Committee
Launch of the Task Force/Committee
A Message from the Team
More DEIB Articles



  • Brett Harris, Committee Co-Chair, Membership DEIB Working Group
  • Jai Calloway, Committee Co-Chair, Membership DEIB Working Group
  • Hector Escalante, Board Liaison
  • Lindsay Jennings, Staff Contact
  • Katie Berry, Staff Contact
  • Donald Meyer, Marketing Firm Liaison

Committee Members

  • Eric Adcock

  • Peter Anderson, Research/JIOA DEIB Working Group

  • Kirsi Aulin, Mentoring DEIB Working Group

  • Mario Baril

  • Geoffrey Bartholomeusz, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Takis Bogdanos, External DEIB Working Group

  • Alicia Booker, Professional Development / Conference DEIB Working Group

  • Crystal Brakke, Professional Development / Conference DEIB Working Group

  • Andrea Brown

  • Vannee Cao-Nguyen

  • Jim Castleberry

  • Prisca Chaoui

  • Barbara Curwin

  • Wanda Donnelly

  • Donna Edmondson, Research/JIOA DEIB Working Group

  • Twillea Evans-Carthen, Mentoring DEIB Working Group

  • Anthony Gafoor, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Takeelia Garrett

  • Laurel Gordon, Membership DEIB Working Group

  • Josie Gough

  • D.A. Graham, Mentoring DEIB Working Group

  • Liz Honig

  • Kim Howard-Carswell

  • Nina Jetha, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Vikram Kapoor

  • Gurmeet Kaur

  • Amarah Khan

  • Kimberly McDuff King

  • Jacqueline Jones LaMon

  • Juan Lattanzio, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Zetu Makamandela-Mguqulwa, Professional Development / Conference DEIB Working Group

  • Marilyn Molina, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Justin Neiman

  • Manda Noble-Green

  • Armineh Noravian

  • Erica Peters

  • Joseph Price

  • Donald Proby

  • Brandi Quam

  • David Rabinovitch, Mentoring DEIB Working Group

  • Nicholas Raichart

  • Jacqueline Silvera

  • Heidi Stensby, Communications DEIB Working Group

  • Jennifer Swann, External DEIB Working Group

  • M Gabriela Torres, Finance DEIB Working Group

  • Sonja Trent-Brown

  • Janet Vantriet

  • Jacqueline Villafane

  • Melissa Watson, Communications DEIB Working Group

  • Herb Waye, International Outreach / Identity-Based Affinity Group DEIB Working Group

  • Allison Monyei Whaley

  • Kimberly Wong

  • Clementine Wood


  • This Committee has not yet formalized its priorities. More information will be posted in the coming weeks.

Join the Team

This is IOA's newest committee and we are looking for members to join. If you are an IOA member who is passionate about the topic of DEIB and interested in serving on this committee then you are assured a place on the team. Simply email us at [email protected] to join and begin supporting positive change within IOA.