IOA 2020 Community Connections

Learn & Network from Home

 

This spring and summer IOA will be offering a new series of virtual workshops, forums, and learning sessions to keep the ombuds community connected and to help us learn and grow in ways relevant to this moment.

Offerings will include Sector Meetings, Topic Presentations (short learning opportunities designed to complement IOA's Live Webinar series), as well as Additional Programming/Community Gatherings to learn from each other. The expanded body of events is being developed by the new Community Connections Task Force, comprised of members from IOA’s Professional Development Committee, Conference Committee, the IOA Board, IOA staff, and the Executive Director. 

Community Connections FAQ

Watch Recorded Presentations, Sector Meetings, and Community Gatherings 

Recording Available on the IOA Online Learning Center


How Can You Participate?

IOA Members
These virtual offerings will be offered free to IOA members with an option to make a monetary contribution to support IOA in providing these programs. Due to the cancelation of the conference, IOA lost a substantial amount of revenue, and we appreciate any support you are able to provide. When you register for Topic Presentations, you decide and pay what you can afford by way of supporting your association. You may also make a voluntary contribution below:

Make a Donation

Non-Member Access
Topic Presentations are open to non-members for $50 per session.

Registration links are included below for confirmed Sector Meetings. Registration will open soon for all other meetings.


Facilitated Sector Meetings

IOA Members Only (Free)
Emerging Ombuds Sector Meeting
Finding Your Footing in the Ombuds World | 39 Attendees
       IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 6 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Collateral-Duty Ombuds Sector Meeting
A Panel Discussion of the Challenges and Rewards  | 24 Attendees
      IOA Members Registration
Wednesday, 6 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
Healthcare Sector Ombuds Networking Session   | 31 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration
Thursday, 7 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Academic Ombuds Sector Meeting | 84 Attendees
Surviving and Thriving
      IOA Member Registration
Friday, 8 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
International Sector Meeting Option One | 17 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 17 June
6:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM ET, 1:00 PM GMT
International Sector Meeting Option Two  | 15 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 17 June or Thursday, 18 June (Asia/Pacific Region)
1:00 PM AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
Corporate Ombuds Sector Meeting
Being a Corporate Ombuds During Uncertain Times | 52 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration

Tuesday, 23 June
8:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM ET, 3:00 PM GMT
New Community Conversations Session: Student Ombuds in Higher Education
      IOA Member Registration
Wednesday, 15 July
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Government Ombuds Sector Webex Meeting
      IOA Member Meeting Resources 
Wednesday, 29 July
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT

Top

Topic Presentations

Free for IOA members and $50 per session for non-members.

If you have already registered for a topic presentation and would like to register for additional topic presentation(s), please email the IOA Office as the registration form will not allow additional submissions at this time.
Ombudship as Leadership
Mary Bliss Conger
57 Attendees

      Register Now
Tuesday, 26 May
11:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM GMT
CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved
The Meeting Facilitation Game: Can tactile objects change the dynamic of a difficult conversation or meeting—even online?
Don Greenstein
32 Attendees
      Register Now
Thursday, 30 July
8:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM ET, 3:00 PM GMT

CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved
Dancing in a Global Pandemic
Lauren Marx, Carolyn Esposito, and William (Bill) Maurer

      Register Now    
Tuesday, 18 August
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM PT, 4:00 PM GMT

CO-OP® PDH: 1 PDH Approved

Top

Community Gathering

IOA Members Only
Chat with Chuck Howard - Option One  | 20 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration 
Tuesday, 19 May
6:00 AM PT, 9:00 AM ET, 1:00 PM GMT
Chat with Chuck Howard - Option Two | 22 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 19 May
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Healthcare Ombuds Roundtable | 25 Attendees
    IOA Member Registration 
Tuesday, 7 July
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Volunteer Recognition Celebration and Pecha Kucha Social Event!
      IOA Member Registration
Thursday, 16 July
4:00 PM PT, 7:00 PM ET, 11:00 PM GMT
Mentor Connections | 19 Attendees
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 25 August
8:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM ET, 3:00 PM GMT
Option 1: COVID-19 & Contact Tracing Update—Practical Advice for Practicing Ombuds
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 1 September 2020
9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 4:00 PM GMT
Option 2: COVID-19 & Contact Tracing Update—Practical Advice for Practicing Ombuds
      IOA Member Registration
Tuesday, 1 September 2020
4:00 PM PT, 7:00 PM ET, 11:00 PM GMT