Board of Directors

The leadership of IOA consists of a 15-member volunteer Board of Directors elected by the membership, Committees and Task Forces composed of volunteer members with chairs appointed by the Board, and other strategic IOA initiatives comprised of member volunteers who have expertise and passion for specific areas of practice.

The intent of IOA's leadership is to ensure integrity and transparency in all facets of leadership and management of the Association, to foster communication and information sharing among all components of the Association's leadership, and to foster and promote opportunities for the membership to be informed and engaged in the work of the Association. 

If you would like to contact a member of the Board of Directors or a committee chair, send an email to IOA Headquarters, who will forward your message. IOA members can use thmember directory to contact leadership directly.


Marcia Martínez-Helfman
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA United States
Officer Term: 2019-2020
Board Term: 2017-2020

Vice President

Melanie Jagneaux
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX United States
Officer Term: 2019-2020
Board Term: 2017-2020


Ronnie Thomson
Carrollton, TX United States
Officer Term: 2019-2020
Board Term: 2018-2020


Lee Twyman
Rochester, NY United States
Officer Term: 2018-2020
Board Term: 2017-2020

Assistant Treasurer


Photo Coming Soon

Willem Kweens, CO-OP®
Mars, Inc.
Veghel, Netherlands
Officer Term: 2019-2020
Board Term: 2019-2022



Camilo Azcarate
European Southern Observatory
Santiago, Chile
Term: 2017-2020

Roy Baroff, CO-OP®

North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC
Term: 2018-2021

David Carver, Ph.D.

University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE United States
Term: 2019-2021

Suzanne Diviney, CO-OP®
Pfizer Inc.
New York, NY United States
Term: 2019-2021

Kerry Egdorf, Ph.D.
Marquette University
Milwaukee, WI United States
Term: 2017-2020

Jessica Kuchta-Miller, JD, CO-OP®
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO United States
Term: 2018-2021


Bruce MacAllister
International Foundation for Online Responsibility (IFFOR)
Santa Fe, NM, United States
Term: 2019-2022

Sana Manjeshwar, CO-OP®
Houston, TX United States
Term: 2018-2021

Steve Prevaux, CO-OP®
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL United States
Term: 2019-2021

IOA Executive Director

IOA Executive Director Chuck Howard
Charles L. Howard