IOA Conference Committee

About this Committee & Their Mission

The Conference Committee will organize IOA volunteers and coordinate all necessary preparations to convene an annual event that promotes the organizational ombuds profession, provides relevant educational content, enriches networking experiences for attendees, and allows for the conducting of IOA Annual Meeting business. The IOA annual conference serves as the premier venue to promote ombuds awareness, increase individual knowledge, and enhance professional skills. The annual conference features keynote and plenary speakers, workshops, presentations, and panel discussions to address a conference theme and provides countless opportunities for connection and engagement.

Learn More About Conference



  • Katie Manderson, Office of the Attorney General, Texas
  • Bina Patel, United States Patent & Trademark Office

Board Liasion

  • Marcia Gee Riley, CO-OP®, University of California, Berkeley

Finance Liasion

  • David Michael, National Institutes of Health

Committee Members

  • Crystal Brakke, Teach for America
  • Linda Brothers, National Institutes of Health
  • Deanna Yuille-BanfordDefense Human Resources Activity
  • Scott Cantor, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Tandrea Carter, Appalachian State University
  • Lawrence Cohen, MD, Yale University School of Medicine 
  • Amanda Dean, Austin Community College
  • Aaron Footman, USPTO
  • Sandi Moore, Department of Defense
  • Jenn Mahony, Boston Children's Hospital
  • Kristine Paranica, North Dakota State University
  • Mark Patterson, California State University Channel Islands
  • Chanelle Reese, University of California, Merced
  • David SchwartzUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Liz Stone, Gallaudet University
  • Dale Vergott, Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI)
  • Merle Waxman, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Diana Wu, Chevron

Accomplishments 2019-2020

  • Hit an all-time attendance high for IOA2019 and exceeded budgeted net revenue
  • Restructured committee to engage volunteers more effectively and to be more nimble and responsive
  • Changed “Local Activities” sub-committee into “Attendee Experience” sub-committee to broaden the scope of support provided

More About the Committee

Learn more about this group by reading the Conference Committee Job Description. This document goes through the purpose of the group, how the charge related to the strategic plan, chair appointments and terms, and much more.

View Volunteer Job Description

To Join the Committee

If you are interested in joining this or any other committee, please visit our Volunteer Opportunities page to learn more about available positions and complete our Volunteer Interest Form.

Volunteer Interest Form