Upcoming Events List
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
SOLD OUT | Virtual Foundations Course | December 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020 9:00 AM PDT to Friday, December 04, 2020
Category: Foundations Courses

Virtual Foundations of Organizational Ombudsman Practice Course

5-Day Course

9:00 AM – 12:30 PM PT | 12:00 PM  3:30 PM ET Monday/Tuesday
9:00 AM – 12:30 PM PT | 12:00 PM  3:30 PM ET Wednesday
2:30 PM – 6:00 PM PT | 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM ET Wednesday
9:00 AM – 12:30 PM PT | 12:00 PM  3:30 PM ET Thursday
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM PT | 12:00 PM  3:00 PM ET Friday

Times subject to change based on facilitator availability.

Registration & Fees | Course Description | Faculty


Registration

Registration Rates:

  • Members: $1,695
  • Non Members: $1,995

This course is sold out.

Find Another Upcoming Course

Back to Top


Course Description 

“Foundations of Organizational Ombudsman Practice” is offered multiple times each year in various locations, and now, online! The course covers the fundamentals of the organizational ombuds role based on the principles of confidentiality, impartiality, independence, and informality. Learn how to work with visitors to an office as well as how to act as a change agent within your organization. Practice key ombuds skills of listening, asking questions, clarifying, generating options, and moving to actions throughout the ombuds process. In addition, an experienced and highly committed faculty of ombuds will share best practices around setting up an office and evaluating and communicating the effectiveness of the office.

Learn more about the Foundations course.

Who should attend:

The course is designed for recently appointed ombuds. Its objectives are to help new practitioners: 

  • Recognize the dimensions and parameters of the organizational ombuds role
  • Reflect on their own personal relationship to the role
  • Develop basic skills to perform the role effectively
  • Learn best practices
  • Identify resources to learn more
  • Build a community of practice


It is also beneficial for anyone desiring to enter the profession or establish an ombuds function in industry, government, education, and public or private social services agencies. This course applies to ombuds programs in organizational settings. It does not address some features unique to other models of ombuds practice, such as classical, advocate, or legislative.

Course Limit

24 participants

Prerequisites

None

Professional Development Hours (PDH)

This course has been approved for 15 Professional Development Hours towards the Candidate for CO-OP® and CO-OP® credentials.

Back to Top


Faculty

More information coming soon.

Back to Top


 Questions?

Contact the IOA office at [email protected].