CO-OP® Standing Committees

All Standing Committees are created by the Board of Directors of the Board of Certification. All Committee Chairs are appointed by the President, with the approval of the Board of Directors. Committee members are selected by the Chairperson.

The Communications Committee is composed of three members. The Communications Committee coordinates information sharing about the Board of Certification in print and electronic form.
The Nominating Committee, which consists of three members, is responsible for the nomination process for the open positions on the Board of Directors; they solicit nominations from among Certified Organizational Ombuds Practitioners® of record and identify prospective candidates for the public director position.

The Professional Practices Committee receives and investigates complaints of professional misconduct pursuant to the Ethics Complaint Procedure for Certified Organizational Ombuds Practitioners®. The Committee is composed of at least three and no more than five members.
The Finance Committee is chaired by the Treasurer of the Board of Certification and has at least three members. The Finance Committee plans the budget for the forthcoming fiscal year and oversees the financial affairs of the Board of Certification.

The Eligibility Committee has five members. The Eligibility Committee evaluates applications from candidates for the CO-OP® and Candidate for CO-OP® designations.

The Appeals Committee is composed of three members. The Appeals Committee adjudicates appeals from those who have been determined ineligible for certification or recertification for any reason, including by reason of not having passed the written certification examination.

The Recertification Committee has five members. The Recertification Committee evaluates applications from currently certified individuals to determine if the requirements for recertification have been met.